Sorensen College Player of the Year Award

Grace Taito Nominated for Sorensen CPY Award

Grace Taito, BYU Women's Rugby 2017-2018

Saturday March 30, 2018 -  By FloRugby News, Alex Goff, creator of the Sorensen and Scholz Players of the Year Award, presented by the Washington Athletic Club.

Seattle, WA - A panel of coaches, administrators, and media members have selected the nominees for the 2017-18 MA Sorensen Award.

MA Sorensen was a trailblazing prop in American college rugby and World Cup winner, and she lends her name to the award for the best women's D1 college player of the season.

This award, first given out in the 2015-16 season, is sponsored by the Washington Athletic Club of Seattle. Hope Rogers of Penn State won in 2016, and Ilona Maher of Quinnipiac won in 2017. Maher is nominated again this year.

Fans are asked to help narrow this down to four finalists. To vote, go to this link -

College programs can also participate in a special vote (one vote per college team) here.

2017-18 Sorensen Award Nominees:

Danielle Ordway: Center, Davenport - A brilliant breakaway runner who has led Davenport to multiple major titles.

McKenzie Hawkins: Center, Lindenwood - A repeat nominee, Hawkins has helped Lindenwood to a national 7s championship and made the Lions one of the best teams in the nation.

Kaitlyn Broughton: Center, Life - A strong defender and attacker, Broughton is part of a dangerous Life Running Eagles backline.

Tess Feury: Fullback, Penn State - Multi-skilled, Feury has been capped by the USA and can play fullback or flyhalf.